Coventry Public Schools Home


Benchmarks and Standards

The CT Early Learning and Development Standards (CT-ELDS) cover 8 domains:

  • Cognition
  • Creative Arts
  • Social and Emotional Development
  • Science
  • Language and Literacy
  • Social Studies
  • Mathematics
  • Physical Development and Health

The standards are built on a range from 0-6 months to 4 to 5 years. Recognizing that all children enter our center with different levels of development in all eight areas, staff will differentiate instruction to take your child from where they start with the goal of having each child ready for kindergarten when they leave HEEC.


Staff worked extremely hard last school year to develop a themed-based curriculum based on the CT-ELDS. All children, regardless of the program in which they are enrolled, will be exposed to all the standards. Standards were prioritized and mapped out across the school year to ensure coverage and consistency across all classrooms. Our monthly newsletter will highlight the monthly theme and the standards that will be covered.